Isle of Wight Scout County

The Scout Association provides adventurous activities and personal development opportunities to young people between 6 and 25 years old.  At 18, members join the Scout Network and may also  become a Leader.  More information about Scouting and its role may be found on the page What is Scouting?

The UK headquarters is at Gilwell Park, Essex and provides support to all British Scouts.  Locally, the support comes from the County.  The 22 Scout Groups on the Isle of Wight are divided into 2 Districts, East Wight  and West Wight.  Since 2014 Paul Savill is the County Commissioner who is supported by a small team of uniformed and lay members.  Unlike other Counties in the UK, there are no Assistant County Commissioners for Beavers, Cubs or Scouts because of the small size of the Island.  Their roles are covered by the Assistant District Commissioners from both Districts.  The Scout Network for 18 to 25 year olds is County based and has its own Network Commissioner.

There is an Executive Committee which exists to support the County Commissioner in meeting the responsibilities of his appointment.  The Committee promotes the development of Scouting on the Island and attends to the administration of the County.  There are several sub-committees, including Finance and Corf Scout Camp, and are always seeking interested persons to assist.


 County Scarf                        

             (Isle of Wight Coat-of-Arms on back)

Overview of Districts

The Isle of Wight has 2 Scout Districts - East Wight and West Wight covering 22 Scout Groups.  The County is split into two so that better support can be given to 'grass roots' Scouting rather than just one support body.  The East Wight District covers to the east of and including Binstead, Godshill and Chale; the West Wight District covers to the west of and including Wootton, Newport and Brighstone.  View map of Groups here.