West Wight District

The West Wight Scout District is one of two on the Isle of Wight.  It comprises of 12 Scout Groups in Brighstone, Cowes, East Cowes, Freshwater & Totland, Gurnard, Newport (4 Groups), Northwood, Wootton and Yarmouth.  Most of these have all 3 youth sections of Beavers (6-8 years), Cubs (8-10½ years) and Scouts (10½-14 years).  There are also Explorer Units (14-18 years) in Brighstone, Cowes and Newport, which are managed by the District Explorer Scout Commissioner.  The Scout Network for 18-25 year olds operates at County level.

The District Team gives support to Groups via the Group Scout Leader, or directly to the youth sections by the Assistant District Commissioners for Beavers, Cubs or Scouts or the District Expkorer Scout Commissioner.   It also organises District activities and competitions for the young people. It has an Executive Committee to administer the affairs of the District.

As there are only 2 Districts on the Island, there is no direct Sectional team at County level, so the District Team also organises and supports County Activities.

The current District was formed by merging the original Districts of North Wight, Central Wight and West Wight. This was done for efficiency, as less Commissioners and support were needed.